Twice as Nice for Svigals, F&M

Complete Results

WILMINGTON, Del. - Franklin & Marshall won its second consecutive Centennial men's golf championship in record fashion at the DuPont Country Club.

The Diplomats fashioned a record 54-hole score of 882 to defeat runner-up McDaniel (912) by 30 shots. Swarthmore (932) was third, followed by Muhlenberg (955), Dickinson (963), Gettysburg (964) and Ursinus (1050).

F&M senior Bobby Svigals repeated as medalist, posting a record-tying 219 for the three-day event. He posted a 74 to win by five shots over teammates Dan Furman and Brad Lankler. McDaniel's Steve Tanen was fourth at 225, while Swarthmore senior Andrew Park was fifth at 226. The top five finishers at the Conference championship are named first-team All-Centennial. It was the second straight first-team nod for Svigals, Lankler and Park.

Svigals is the first repeat champion since Jeff Forbes won back-to-back individual titles in 1996 and 1997. The Diplomats' final round team score of 287 also set a Centennial single-round record, while Furman set a Conference record for lowest final round with a 70.