Johns Hopkins Picked to Repeat in 2018

Johns Hopkins Picked to Repeat in 2018

Preseason Guide | Record Book

Johns Hopkins was selected to repeat as Centennial Conference champions in the 2018 volleyball preseason poll of conference coaches.

The Blue Jays earned nine first-place votes and a total of 99 points in the preseason poll. Finishing second with one first-place vote and 84 points was Swarthmore. Muhlenberg was third with 79 points, followed by Franklin & Marshall with one first-place vote and 75 points. Rounding out the top five with 67 points was McDaniel.

2018 Preseason Poll Results

1.  Johns Hopkins (9 first-place votes), 99 points
2.  Swarthmore (1), 84
3.  Muhlenberg, 79
4.  Franklin & Marshall, (1) 75
5.  McDaniel, 67
6.  Haverford, 52
7.  Gettysburg, 51
8.  Dickinson, 37
9.  Washington College, 32
10.  Ursinus, 19
11.  Bryn Mawr, 10

Returning 2017 All-Conference Players

First Team

OH-Mehra den Braven, Swarthmore, Jr., Santa Clara, Calif. / Pinewood
L-Sarah Girard, Swarthmore, Sr., Woodbine, Md. / Glenelg
OH-Louisa Kishton, Johns Hopkins, Jr., Mountain View, Calif. / Los Altos
S-Natalie Aston *, Johns Hopkins, Soph., Woodland Hills, Calif. / Lousiville
OH-Kelly Tornetta, Muhlenberg, Sr., Phoenixville, Pa. / Pope John Paul II

Second Team

OH-Marlowe Embry, McDaniel, Soph., Milpitas, Calif. / John H. Pitman
S-Grace Maggiore, Franklin & Marshall, Soph., Chapel Hill, N.C. / Carrboro
OH-Simone Bliss, Johns Hopkins, Soph., Claremont, Calif. / Claremont
L-Taylor Bauman, McDaniel, Sr., Charlottesville, Va. / Albemarle
S-Shannon Hubert, Muhlenberg, Sr., Wyckoff, N.J. / Ramapo
OH-Maggie Enestvedt, Muhlenberg, Jr., St. Paul, Minn. / Cretin-Derham

Honorable Mention

L-Tatiana Lopez, Dickinson, Soph., Guaynabo, Puerto Rico / Colegio Puertorriqueno de Ninas
OH-Kaitlyn Marino, Washington College, Sr., Redding, Conn. / Joel Barlow
OH-Allie Stranick, Gettysburg, Soph., Havertown, Pa. / Merion Mercy
OH/L-Sara Matsumura, Haverford, Jr., Salt Lake City, Utah / Rowland Hall
OH-Natalie Pisch, Haverford, Sr., Blue Bell, Pa. / Gwynedd Mercy Academy
OH-Grace Polisano, Franklin & Marshall, Jr., Ambler, Pa. / Germantown Acad.

*2017 Rookie of the Year